How the NBA’s New Resting Stars Policy Impacts Each Team


The NBA implementing new rules that will make it harder for teams to use load management to rest star players and some teams will be more affected than others.

New resting policy rules will make it more difficult for star players to sit out during nationally televised games and in-season tournament games.

Plus, teams with multiple stars will also not be allowed to rest those star players at the same time during regular season matchups.

The NBA have defined a ‘star’ player as someone who has been selected in an All-Star or All-NBA team in the past three seasons.

Let’s take a look of some of the NBA teams that are likely to be impacted the most by the new rules.

Teams with four stars:

Golden State Warriors: Steph Curry, Andrew Wiggins, Draymond Green, Chris Paul

Minnesota Timberwolves: Anthony Edwards, Rudy Gobert, Karl-Anthony Towns, Mike Conley


Teams with three stars:

Chicago Bulls: DeMar DeRozan, Zach LaVine, Nikola Vucevic

Cleveland Cavaliers: Donovan Mitchell, Darius Garland, Jarrett Allen

Milwaukee Bucks: Giannis Antetokounmpo, Jrue Holiday, Khris Middleton

Phoenix Suns: Kevin Durant, Devin Booker, Bradley Beal


Teams with two stars:

Boston Celtics: Jayson Tatum, Jaylen Brown

Philadelphia 76ers: Joel Embiid, James Harden

Atlanta Hawks: Trae Young, Dejounte Murray

Miami Heat: Bam Adebayo, Jimmy Butler

Los Angeles Clippers: Paul George, Kawhi Leonard

Los Angeles Lakers: LeBron James, Anthony Davis

Sacramento Kings: Domantas Sabonis, De’Aaron Fox

Dallas Mavericks: Kyrie Irving, Luka Doncic

Memphis Grizzlies: Ja Morant, Jaren Jackson Jr.

Teams with one star

Brooklyn Nets: Ben Simmons

Related Article:  Donovan Mitchell Goes Off About Fans' Treatment of Darius Garland

New York Knicks: Julius Randle

Toronto Raptors: Pascal Siakam

Indiana Pacers: Tyrese Haliburton

Charlotte Hornets: LaMelo Ball

Denver Nuggets: Nikola Jokic

Oklahoma City Thunder: Shai Gilgeous-Alexander

Portland Trailblazers: Damian Lillard

Utah Jazz: Lauri Markkanen

Houston Rockets: Fred VanVleet

New Orleans Pelicans: Zion Williamson

The teams that don’t have a ‘star’ include the Detroit Pistons, Orlando Magic, Washington Wizards and San Antonio Spurs.

The new policy will provide allowances for players who are aged 35 years or over, or who have played in at least 34,000 minutes or 1,000 regular season and playoff games pending load management approval from the league.

So players like LeBron James, Steph Curry, Kevin Durant and James Harden are among the NBA players that can gain exemptions from the NBA’s new resting policy.

READ MORE: LeBron’s Involvement in PED Scandal Explained After Findings Go Public