1984 NBA Champions: Celtics Beat Lakers in All-Time Classic Series

1984 NBA Finals, Celtics vs. Lakers

The 1984 NBA Finals is among the most epic series in NBA history.

Two classic franchises matching up once again with the NBA crown on the line.

The Boston Celtics, led by Larry Bird, vs. The Los Angeles Lakers, led by Earvin “Magic “Johnson.

Let’s take a look at the legendary seven-game series, game-by-game.

Game 1: Lakers 115 – Celtics 109 

The biggest headline to open this series up was the Bird vs. Magic story. 

The first game in the 1984 NBA Finals didn’t exactly go as planned for the Celtics.

Related Article:  Can Jayson Tatum Become the Next Face of the NBA?

In fact, this was the first time they matched up in a title game since the 1979 NCAA Championship game.

Magic took the win in that game, but Bird made sure to remember that in this series.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar scored 32 points to lead the way for L.A.’s win at the Boston Garden.

Game 2: Celtics 124 – Lakers 121

Another close game in the series, however this time the C’s would fight back and tie the series up before heading out West.

Despite James Worthy’s 29 points, a bad pass towards the end was just one thing that tied the series.

With only 15 seconds remaining, Worthy threw a pass that was picked off Celtics guard Gerald Henderson.

Henderson got a layup and the game went into overtime, where the C’s prevailed.

Game 3: Lakers 137 – Celtics 104

With the series now in Los Angeles, the series lead was up for grasps as it was 1-1.

However, Larry Bird’s 30 points couldn’t save the C’s in this one.

The Lakers dominated all game and took this game in easy fashion.

Game 4: Celtics 129 – Lakers 125

Anyone recall Kevin McHale roughing up Kurt Rambis?

That incident helped propel a Celtics run that saw a 10-point halftime Laker lead erased.

The game went into overtime where Bird hit a clutch shot over Magic and M.L. Carr’s steal at the buzzer sealed the victory for Boston.

Game 5 and Game 6: Celtics and Lakers exchange double-digit wins

Both Games five and six in this series saw the Celtics win by 18 and the Lakers win by 11 respectively.

Game five is also remembered as the “heat game” where temperatures were uncomfortably hot inside the Garden.

Setting up the grand finale in game seven.

Game 7: Celtics 111 – Lakers 102

The game where Bird got his revenge and the Celtics got their 15th title.

Bird had a great deal of help in this game to end the series.

In fact, on top of Bird’s 20 points, Cedric Maxwell scored  24 points, and Dennis Johnson had 22 points of his own.

Meanwhile, Robert Parish chipped in with 14 points and 16 rebounds to lead Boston to a win.

Larry Bird won Finals MVP averaging 27.4 points, 14 rebounds, and 3.6 assists per game

This series was the first of three epic series between these two teams in the 1980s.